5 on my tbr

#5OnMyTBR – Sequels

#5OnMyTBR is a bookish meme hosted by E. @ Local Bee Hunter’s Nook where you chose five books from your to-be-read pile that fit that week’s theme. If you’d like more info, head over to the announcement post!


Hello, reader!

It has been a minute since I’ve done a #5OnMyTBR, hasn’t it? I blame the move and just being incredibly busy lately. I have today off, though, so before I go blog-hopping, I figured I would revisit one of my favorite bookish weekly memes.

This Monday, the theme of #5OnMyTBR is sequels! We’re talking about books in a series that we’ve been meaning to read but haven’t picked up yet. Of which I have… a lot 😅 But I’ve narrowed it down to the five that I most want to read. That being said, let’s get to it!


#1. The Faithless Hawk by Margaret Owen

This one is, perhaps, my most anticipated sequel of 2020. I randomly picked up The Merciful Crow (the first book in this series) last year at the library. The premise sounded interesting and I liked the cover. It’s literally why I pick up most of the books that I read, lol. Anyways, I ended up falling in love with Fie and the world that Owen has created! Fie is sarcastic and tough and willing to fight for what she believes in. I can’t wait to continue her story!

Also, cause I’m nothing if not on-brand, it’s got a gorgeous cover 😍

#2. The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson

Look, I’ve been reading the Mistborn series for years. Why have I not picked up the third book in the first trilogy? I have no rational explanation for it. I absolutely loved the first two books and this is easily one of my favorite fantasy series. And yet… The Hero of Ages just sits on my shelf, collecting dust. Part of me wonders if it’s because I don’t want the story to be over. Which would have been a fair excuse before I found out there exists an entire other Mistborn trilogy! I do believe it features entirely new characters, though, and Vin is probably the main reason I love the series so much!

Sigh… honestly, I just need to suck it up and finally finish her story.

#3. Unravel the Dusk by Elizabeth Lim

I read the first book in this duology, Spin the Dawn, on Netgalley last year. I randomly requested it because the premise sounded incredible and, prepare to be shocked, it has a stunning cover. I ended up really liking it and am super excited to get to this sequel! Maia is tough and feminine and clever and I just love her! I love the world-building, the romance, the magic… just everything about this series is a freakin’ gem!

And I happened to snag the last copy at our local Barnes & Noble when we made an impromptu trip last weekend 😁 I can’t wait to read this one!

#4. Girls of Storm and Shadow by Natasha Ngan

The first book in this duology, Girls of Paper and Fire, was another one I randomly selected at the library because it sounded interesting and the cover was pretty. Actually… I think I picked it up in the same trip where I snagged The Merciful Crow. That was a good library visit, I must say!

Anyways, I ended up completely captivated by the story of Lei and Wren. I want to know how they continue their journey and how it will end! Hopefully I’ll be able to read it sooner than later. I have so many books I want to read…

#5. The Fires of Vengeance by Evan Winter

Probably my second most anticipated sequel of 2020! The Rage of Dragons absolutely blew me away last summer! This is an African-inspired fantasy that pulls no punches. It’s intense and definitely gets the pulse up! I loved the world-building and the magic, but the best part of this book was the characters. Tau is such a complex protagonist! His motivations and his drive are so interesting to watch. And, after the ending of the first book, I’m so curious as to where his drive will take him next.

Also, there are dragons, sooooo…


So there are the five sequels that I cannot wait to read! Funnily enough, I already own four out of the five books. I just need to get my hands on a copy of The Fires of Vengance and I’ll be set. What are some sequels that you can’t wait to get your hands on? Did you do your own #5OnMyTBR? Let me know in the comments!

And, as always, happy reading!

3 thoughts on “#5OnMyTBR – Sequels

Leave a comment