First Impression: What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson

Hello, reader!

Today, I’m bringing you a post I haven’t done before… a first impression! This is for the blog tour for What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson, a YA thriller that promises some dark twists and turns. This tour is being hosted by The Write Reads, so I must thank Dave and the publisher, Penguin, for providing me with a free e-ARC in exchange for my participation with this tour. Though I’ll just be giving you my initial thoughts on this book in this post, I’ll have a few review up at the beginning of April. Keep your eyes out for that if this post piques your interest!


Synopsis


When everything you love is in danger, how long can you keep running to survive?

Life can be brutal
Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Jack knew it
Jack Dahl has nothing left. Except his younger brother, Matty, who he’d die for. Their mother is gone, and their funds are quickly dwindling, Jack needs to make a choice: lose his brother to foster care, or find the drug money that sent his father to prison.

So did I
Ava lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father, a merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one.

Did I feel the flutter of wings when Jack and I met? Did I sense the coming tornado?
But now Ava wants to break the rules – to let Jack in and open her heart. Then she discovers that Jack and her father are stalking the same money, and suddenly Ava is faced with a terrible choice: remain silent or speak out and help the brothers survive.

Looking back, I think I did . . .

Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Meg Rosoff and Daniel Woodrell, What Beauty There Is an unforgettable debut novel that is as compulsive as it is beautiful, and unflinchingly explores the power of determination, survival and love.

Beautifully written and superbly constructed, Anderson pulls you onto a chilling footpath of love and loss and keeps you there until you’ve read every last word’ Ruta Sepetys, bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey

Book Details


  • Author: What Beauty There Is
  • Series: What Beauty There Is #1
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Publication date: April 8th, 2021
  • Genre: Thriller
  • Age group: Young Adult
  • Content/Trigger Warnings: Please check out the page for this book on BookTriggerWarnings.com to see a full list of content and trigger warnings.

Book Links

Bookshop::TBD::B&N::Amazon::
Goodreads

About the Author


Cory Anderson is a winner of the League of Utah Writers Young Adult Novel Award and Grand Prize in the Storymakers Conference First Chapter Contest. She lives in Utah with her family. What Beauty There Is is her debut novel.

Author Links

Website::Twitter::Instagram::Goodreads

First Impression


I’ve only read the first four chapters of this novel, but I’m already trapped in this world! The writing is incredibly compelling, making it easy to rip through the pages as you are sucked into the story. Somehow, I’m just a few chapters, I find myself already attached to the two main characters, though I hardly know anything about them! The point is, I want to know more, which I think is a testament to Cory Anderson’s writing!

Overall, the first few chapters definitely have me hooked and I can’t wait to continue! If this book sounds interesting and you would like to know more, make sure to follow @WriteReadsTours on Twitter so you can see all the wonderful blog posts as the tour continues. And make sure to drop back by when I post my full review!

4 thoughts on “First Impression: What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson

  1. Fab post Kerri, I’m so glad you are enjoying this one so far and I hope you get to finish it soon. I can’t wait to read your final thoughts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply to kerrimcbooknerd Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s