Blog Tour: The Meeting Point by Olivia Lara

Hello, reader!

It’s time, once again, for another marvelous blog tour hosted by The Write Reads! This time, we’re going a bit outside of my wheelhouse. I’m not a huge romance reader but, as of late, I have found quite a few that I’ve enjoyed. I’m happy to say that the topic of today’s tour stop is yet another one! I’ll be highlighting a new contemporary romance featuring a heartbroken woman and, of all things, a Lift driver: The Meeting Point by Olivia Lara! I was definitely intrigued by the premise of this book and just had to join in the tour!

Before I get into it, though, I want to say thank you! Thank you to Dave @ The Write Reads (and all the behind-the-scenes folk!) for giving me a spot on this tour. And thank you to the publisher, Aria Fiction, and Netgalley for providing me with a free e-ARC in exchange for my participation and an honest review. It is, as always, appreciated.

Now, let’s get to this post!


Synopsis


What if the Lift driver who finds your cheating boyfriend’s phone holds the directions to true love?

‘Who are you and why do you have my boyfriend’s phone?’

‘He left it in my car. You must be the blonde in the red dress? I’m the Lift driver who dropped you two off earlier.’

And with these words, the life of the brunette and t-shirt wearing Maya Maas is turned upside down. Having planned to surprise her boyfriend, she finds herself single and stranded in an unknown city on her birthday.

So when the mystery driver rescues Maya with the suggestion that she cheers herself up at a nearby beach town, she jumps at the chance to get things back on track. She wasn’t expecting a personalised itinerary or the easy companionship that comes from opening up to a stranger via text, let alone the possibility it might grow into something more…

Come on this 5* journey to love, laughter and back again, perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Josie Silver and Sally Thorne.

Book Details


  • Title: The Meeting Point
  • Author: Olivia Lara
  • Publication date: September 2nd, 2021
  • Genre: Contemporary Romance
  • Age group: Adult
  • Content/Trigger Warnings: Cheating, gaslighting, divorce, heartbreak.

Book Links

Bookshop::TBD::B&N::Amazon::
Goodreads

Read More »
Advertisement

Blog Tour: Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon

Hello, reader!

It’s time for my first The Write Reads blog tour of June and we are starting with an absolute gem! Today, I’ll be talking about a sweet young adult romance that turned me into a puddle of emotions. It’s by a well-known author in the young adult community, though this is my first book by here. I promise you, it won’t be the last! What book am I talking about? It’s Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon!

Before I get started, I have to thank Dave @ The Write Reads, Penguin, and Netgalley for providing me with a free e-ARC in exchange for my participation with this tour. As always, it is much appreciated! Small plug: if you’re a book blogger looking to get into the blog tour scene, you cannot go wrong with Dave and all the wonderful people that make The Write Reads so fantastic. Get it on the fun!

Alright, now let’s get to the post 😁


Synopsis


#1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything and The Sun is Also a Star Nicola Yoon is back with a new and utterly unique romance.

Evie is disillusioned about love ever since her dad left her mum for another woman – she’s even throwing out her beloved romance novel collection.

When she’s given a copy of a book called Instructions for Dancing, and follows a note inside to a dilapidated dance studio, she discovers she has a strange and unwelcome gift. When a couple kisses in front of her, she can see their whole relationship play out – from the moment they first catch each other’s eye to the last bitter moments of their break-up.

For Evie, it confirms everything she thinks she knows about love – that it doesn’t last.

But at the dance studio she meets X – tall, dreadlocked, fascinating – and they start to learn to dance, together. Can X help break the spell that Evie is under? Can he change Evie’s mind about love?

Praise for Nicola Yoon:

‘Gorgeous and lyrical’ New York Times

‘Powerful, lovely, heart-wrenching’ Jennifer Niven

‘This extraordinary first novel about love so strong it might kill us is too good to feel like a debut’ Jodi Picoult”

Book Details


  • Author: Nicola Yoon
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Publication date: June 3rd, 2021
  • Genre: Romance/Contemporary
  • Age group: Young Adult
  • Content/Trigger Warnings: Divorce, grief, strong language

Book Links

Bookshop::TBD::B&N::Amazon::
Goodreads

Read More »

Blog Tour: Kate In Waiting by Becky Albertalli

Hello, reader!

It’s time for another blog tour with one of my favorite blog tour companies: The Write Reads! This time, I’ll be reviewing a book that is not in my usual wheelhouse. It’s a contemporary YA romance written by one of the more well-known writers of that genre. It’s called Kate In Waiting by Becky Albertalli and, I have to say, it caught me by surprise!

Before I continue on, though, I want to thank Dave @ The Write Reads, Penguin, and Netgalley for providing me with a free e-ARC in exchange for my participation with this tour and an honest review. It is, as always, very much appreciated.

And now, let’s get to the main event!


Synopsis


From bestselling YA rom-com queen Becky Albertalli (author of Love, Simon) comes a new novel about daring to step out of the shadows and into the spotlight in love, life and theatre.

[PRINCIPAL CAST LIST]

Kate Garfield
Anderson Walker

Best friends, and contrary to popular belief, not co-dependent. Examples:

Carpooling to and from theatre rehearsals? Environmentally sound and efficient.
Consulting each other on every single life decision? Basic good judgment.
Pining for the same guys from afar? Shared crushes are more fun anyway.

But when Kate and Andy’s latest long-distance crush shows up at their school, everything goes off-script.

Enter Stage Left: Matt Olsson

He is talented and sweet, and Kate likes him. She really likes him. The only problem? So does Anderson.

Turns out, communal crushes aren’t so fun when real feelings are involved. This one might even bring the curtains down on Kate and Anderson’s friendship…”

Book Details


  • Author: Becky Albertalli
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Publication date: April 22nd, 2021
  • Genre: Contemporary/Romance
  • Age group: Young Adult
  • Content/Trigger Warnings: To see a full list of this books possible content and trigger warnings, check out it’s page on BookTriggerWarnings.com

Book Links

Bookshop::TBD::B&N::Amazon::
Goodreads

Read More »

Mini Reviews: Romance Edition

Though I tend to be a genre-hopper, there are two genres that I generally avoid. One is Westerns (I don’t like them in movie form, either) and the other is romance. Recently, however, I had noticed there were quite a few romance novels out there that actually sounded… interesting. I’d heard about them on Booktube, in Goodreads groups, or over on book Twitter. The more I heard about them, the more I thought that maybe it was time to lift my arbitrary and, frankly, silly ban on romances.

I ended up picking up three new adult romances that I had heard a lot about and found the most compelling: Well Met; Get a Life, Chloe Brown; and The Unhoneymooners. And, lo and behold, I liked all three of them! Let this be a lesson to myself. Don’t judge a genre by your preconceived notions!

(Although I’m still not sure about Westerns…)

Anyways, let’s get to the reviews!

Read More »