First Impression: What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson

Hello, reader!

Today, I’m bringing you a post I haven’t done before… a first impression! This is for the blog tour for What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson, a YA thriller that promises some dark twists and turns. This tour is being hosted by The Write Reads, so I must thank Dave and the publisher, Penguin, for providing me with a free e-ARC in exchange for my participation with this tour. Though I’ll just be giving you my initial thoughts on this book in this post, I’ll have a few review up at the beginning of April. Keep your eyes out for that if this post piques your interest!


Synopsis


When everything you love is in danger, how long can you keep running to survive?

Life can be brutal
Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Jack knew it
Jack Dahl has nothing left. Except his younger brother, Matty, who he’d die for. Their mother is gone, and their funds are quickly dwindling, Jack needs to make a choice: lose his brother to foster care, or find the drug money that sent his father to prison.

So did I
Ava lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father, a merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one.

Did I feel the flutter of wings when Jack and I met? Did I sense the coming tornado?
But now Ava wants to break the rules – to let Jack in and open her heart. Then she discovers that Jack and her father are stalking the same money, and suddenly Ava is faced with a terrible choice: remain silent or speak out and help the brothers survive.

Looking back, I think I did . . .

Perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Meg Rosoff and Daniel Woodrell, What Beauty There Is an unforgettable debut novel that is as compulsive as it is beautiful, and unflinchingly explores the power of determination, survival and love.

Beautifully written and superbly constructed, Anderson pulls you onto a chilling footpath of love and loss and keeps you there until you’ve read every last word’ Ruta Sepetys, bestselling author of Between Shades of Grey

Book Details


  • Author: What Beauty There Is
  • Series: What Beauty There Is #1
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • Publication date: April 8th, 2021
  • Genre: Thriller
  • Age group: Young Adult
  • Content/Trigger Warnings: Please check out the page for this book on BookTriggerWarnings.com to see a full list of content and trigger warnings.

Book Links

Bookshop::TBD::B&N::Amazon::
Goodreads

Read More »

#5OnMyTBR – Green Covers

#5OnMyTBR is a bookish meme hosted by E. @ Local Bee Hunter’s Nook where you chose five books from your to-be-read pile that fit that week’s theme. If you’d like more info, head over to the announcement post!


Hello, reader!

I’m back with another 5 On My TBR post! Today, we’re going to be focusing on books with green covers. I wasn’t sure if I would have a lot of green books from which to choose… at least none that immediately popped into my head. A lot of the covers I gravitate towards are either blue or black. Blue being my favorite color and black just being kind of ubiquitous on book covers, lol. After going through my TBR, however, there were a lot more than I was expecting! Here are the five that I’ve chosen as the ones I’m most excited to read. Let’s jump in!


#1. The Queen’s Gambit by Beth Brower

We’ll start this list with a fantasy novel that has been on my TBR for an embarrassing amount of time. So long, in fact, that I completely forgot what it was about 😅 It seems like it’s a classic fantasy tale of a kingdom at war with a leader who has to make tough choices. Throw in an enemy soldier who defects but may or may not be a spy and it sounds like something I’m going to enjoy! It also has an average rating of 4.36 on Goodreads, which is pretty impressive! I should pick this one up sooner than later.

#2. The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

This is probably the greenest of the green books on this list, lol. It’s also one of the ones I’m most excited to read. I’ve only read one book by Taylor Jenkins Reid, but I absolutely loved it. And I’ve heard nothing but incredible things about this one. It focuses on the titular Evelyn Hugo as she recounts her life story to a young journalist. There’s drama, there’s romance, and it has a LGBT aspect! It sounds like something I’m going to really enjoy.

Read More »