Blog Tour: Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone

Hello, reader!

Today, I’m bringing you another blog tour post for the ever wonderful The Write Reads! If you’re a blogger and have been looking for a blog tour company you might want to try, I can’t recommend Dave highly enough. Beyond the fact that he’s awesome, the last three tours I’ve done have all been books I’ve absolutely adored!

But I’m getting ahead of myself, aren’t I? I haven’t talked about the book I’ll be reviewing for this tour post! Today, I’m talking about a dark and frightening thriller that had me up until 3 in the morning because I could not put it down. The fact that it’s a debut novel absolutely blows my mind! Come with me as I dive into the world of Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone!

Well, first let me start by thanking Dave @ The Write Reads, the publisher, Scribner, and Netgalley for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for my participation with this tour and an honest review. And extra special thanks has to go out for the beautiful finished hardback Scribner sent my way! It is, as always, very much appreciated.

Okay! Now to gush about this book!


Synopsis


Twelve years ago my life began again.

But it was a lie.

With the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is the story of twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind.

Cat lives in Los Angeles, about as far away as she can get from her estranged twin sister El and No. 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where they grew up. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross.

But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to the grand old house, which has scarcely changed in twenty years. No. 36 Westeryk Road is still full of shadowy, hidden corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues all over the house: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting… A sharply crafted mystery about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge, Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware, and Daphne du Maurier.”

Book Details


  • Title: Mirrorland
  • Author: Carole Johnstone
  • Publisher: Scribner
  • Publication date: April 20th, 2021
  • Genre: Thriller/Mystery
  • Age group: Adult
  • Content/Trigger Warnings: For a full list of potential content and trigger warnings, check out this book’s page on BookTriggerWarnings.com

Book Links

Bookshop::TBD::B&N::Amazon::
Goodreads

Read More »