ARC Review: With Fire In Their Blood by Kat Delacorte


Title: With Fire In Their Blood

Author: Kat Delacorte

Publisher: Penguin

Genre: Fantasy

Age Group: Young Adult

Content/Trigger Warnings: Suicide, parent death, war, fighting, grief, depictions of drug abuse

Rating: ★★★★

Book Links: TBD::Amazon::Goodreads

Goodreads Synopsis

With Fire In Their Blood is a simmering supernatural romance set in the crumbling Italian city of Castello, where mafia clans make the rules, dark magic pulses the streets and the sins of the past threaten to consume the present. Perfect for fans of These Violent Delights, The Darkest Minds and V.E. Schwab.

When sixteen-year-old Lilly Deluca arrives in Castello, she isn’t impressed. A secluded town in the Italian mountains is not where she saw her last years of high school playing out.

Divided for generations by a brutal clan-family war, the two halves of Castello are kept from destroying each other by the mysterious General, a leader determined to maintain order and ‘purity’. . . whatever the cost.

Lilly falls in with the rebellious Liza, brooding Nico and sensitive Christian, and sparks begin to fly. But in a city where love can lead to ruin, Lilly isn’t sure she can trust anyone – not even herself.

And then she accidentally breaks Castello’s most important rule: when the General’s men come to test your blood, you’d better not be anything more than human . . .


Thank you to The Write Reads, the publisher, and Netgalley for providing me with a free e-ARC in exchange for an honest review! All opinions contained within are my own.

We all know that I love a fantasy. Lately, though, I’ve been leaning hard into the darker fantasies. The fantasies with that little sprinkling of horror to spice them up. Perhaps it’s because fall is right around the corner and I’m gearing up for spooky season. Either way, anything with a note of the creepy or a hint of darkness has been my jam as of late. With Fire In Their Blood is a book that definitely hit the right note!

This story is the first in a new YA series that begins with a young woman named Lilly having her entire life turned upside down. Her dad accepts a job in a rural, Italian town and Lilly is dragged along for the ride. She’s not a fan as soon as she steps foot in Castello, what with the old, bedraggled buildings and the lack of Wi-fi. She soon finds herself falling in with eclectic group of people, however, and that’s when Castello starts to become anything but boring.

I talked about how much I was loving the atmosphere in this book in my first impressions post and that held true throughout the rest of the story! Kat Delacorte has a way of writing that creates a pitch perfect, foreboding atmosphere that will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire time. It was eerie and spooky and had my heart racing! I thought she did an incredible job with the pacing of this story, as well. At no point in time was I bored, but it also didn’t race along and leave me in the dust. This was paced wonderfully and made the story that much more immersive.

As for our cast of characters, what a delightfully weird and twisted bunch! Lilly was truly thrown to the wolves when it comes to the town of Castello and it’s residents. I loved how vivid and intense all the characters were in this book. From our main character, Lilly, down to the most peripheral side character, they truly came to life on the page! Were some of them cartoonishly evil? Yeah, there were a couple. Still, the vast majority had nuance and layers that made them so interesting to learn about and follow.

Overall, this was a stunning debut! It features incredible characters, great world-building, and atmospheric writing that will have you completely captivated. I’m certainly sucked in to this world and I need to know what happens next. I will be waiting in eager anticipation for the next installment in this series!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s