Sundays In Bed With… Juniper & Thorn by Ava Reid

Sundays in Bed With… is a meme that dares to ask you what book has been in your bed this morning and is hosted by Midnight Book Girl. Come share what book you’ve spent time curled up reading in bed with, or which book you wish you had time to read today!


Hello, reader!

We’ve made it to the end (or beginning?) or another week and I, for one, am ready for this week to be over. It’s been a stressful couple of weeks, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel. So, I’m going to spend my evening curled up with a book and I want to tell you all about it. The book I’m featuring today is a gothic horror that just released last week. I’m a fan of horror and gothic horror is the top tier of horror, in my opinion!

Want to learn more about the book? Keep reading!


My Sunday Read Is…

Juniper & Thorn by Ava Reid

I’ve had Ava Reid’s debut, The Wolf and the Woodsman, on my TBR for awhile. So it’s a little funny that I started reading her second book first 😅 I received an e-ARC through Netgalley and I’m trying to catch up with my Netgalley backlist, so here we are! Besides, I do love gothic horror, so that aspect intrigued me. Now that I’ve started reading it, I can firmly say that Ava Reid’s writing alone is going to get this book at the very least three stars. I love her writing so much! The story is engaging and definitely has that unsettling vibe that I expect from a gothic horror. I’m not too far in, only about 21%, but I’m loving what I’m getting so far!


Goodreads Synopsis

From highly acclaimed bestselling author Ava Reid comes a gothic horror retelling of The Juniper Tree, set in another time and place within the world of The Wolf and the Woodsman, where a young witch seeks to discover her identity and escape the domination of her wizard father, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Catherynne M. Valente.

A gruesome curse. A city in upheaval. A monster with unquenchable appetites.

Marlinchen and her two sisters live with their wizard father in a city shifting from magic to industry. As Oblya’s last true witches, she and her sisters are little more than a tourist trap as they treat their clients with archaic remedies and beguile them with nostalgic charm. Marlinchen spends her days divining secrets in exchange for rubles and trying to placate her tyrannical, xenophobic father, who keeps his daughters sequestered from the outside world. But at night, Marlinchen and her sisters sneak out to enjoy the city’s amenities and revel in its thrills, particularly the recently established ballet theater, where Marlinchen meets a dancer who quickly captures her heart.

As Marlinchen’s late-night trysts grow more fervent and frequent, so does the threat of her father’s rage and magic. And while Oblya flourishes with culture and bustles with enterprise, a monster lurks in its midst, borne of intolerance and resentment and suffused with old-world power. Caught between history and progress and blood and desire, Marlinchen must draw upon her own magic to keep her city safe and find her place within it.


What are you reading this Sunday? Are you enjoying whatever you are reading? Let me know in the comments!

And, as always, happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Sundays In Bed With… Juniper & Thorn by Ava Reid

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s